- Keeper of the Home - http://www.keeperofthehome.org -

17 Homemade Spice Mixes {with Recipes & Why You Should Use Them!}

Posted By Erin O On February 22, 2013 @ 3:00 am In Baby Steps,Do it yourself,Featured,Herbs,Homemade,In the kitchen,Real, whole food,Realfoodmadesimple,Recipes | Comments Disabled

[1]

By Erin Odom [2], Contributing Writer

Are you working to ditch processed foods and put more real food on the table? We’re running a series called Real Food Made Simple: A Beginner’s Guide to Eating Better [3]. Our goal is to answer the questions [4] you might have and make the transition a whole lot easier!

Even before I started cooking from scratch [5], I started making my own homemade spice mixes.

At first, it was out of pure laziness. I don’t like to shop. Even before I had kids, I didn’t like to run out to the grocery store [6] for an item or two on my ingredient list if I could avoid it. And, hence, I started making things at home.

The very first spice mix for me to make on my own was taco seasoning [7]. I think back then I googled a recipe, and when I realized I had all the ingredients on hand, I was elated.

The next time I was at the store, I checked the ingredient list on the back of the taco seasoning mix I normally purchased. Surely the ingredients would be the same, right?

Wrong.

[8]

The food labels [9] on the bulk of store-bought seasoning mixes are full of fillers, preservatives and other unwanted fake flavor enhancers. These ingredients include:

  • modified food starch [10] (a thickener, often derived from GMO [11] sources but not always),
  • sugar,
  • partially hydrogenated vegetable oils (trans fat and often made from a GMO [11] oil sources, such as cottonseed, canola or soybean [12]),
  • MSG (including “hidden” MSG [13]under other names)
  • hidden gluten (dangerous for those with a gluten intolerance [14] or celiac disease)
  • natural flavorings (So what’s the big deal here? Read this [15].)
  • silicon dioxide [16](to prevent caking–not necessarily bad but an additive to know about nonetheless)
  • spices (This sounds innocent…but what exactly are these anonymous “spices”?),
  • and more.

After learning that store-bought spice mixes aren’t always so wholesome, I committed to making my seasonings at home–for both convenience and health reasons.

[17]

How to Make Your Own

Seriously, making your own spice mixes is probably the easiest kitchen task you will ever do.

Supplies Needed:

Method:

Simply combine all the individual spices together in a jar, shake the jar and–voila!–you have your spice mixes!

I have sometimes gotten in the rut of making just what I needed per meal at the time I am cooking. This is inconvenient and tags extra time onto dinner prep. I now mix up a whole canning jar at once, label the top with the ingredients needed to fill the jar as well as with the amounts needed in recipes I make frequently.

[23]

But what if you don’t have all the single-ingredient herbs and spices?

No problem! Check out this handy list of herb and spice substitutions [24].

Homemade Spice Mixes

And now, the moment you’ve been waiting for: check out this full line-up of homemade spice mixes! I’ve also included some recipes that call for these mixes. Your family will thank you for never entering the spice mix aisle of the grocery store [6] again!

Allspice Alternative [25]

Use in:

Apple Pie Spice Mix [28]

Use in:

Cajun Seasoning [31]

Use in:

Chili Powder [34]

Use in:

[37]

Image by Whole New Mom [38]

Cinnamon Sugar [38]

Use to:

  • sprinkle on toast or other baked goods
  • sprinkle in oatmeal [39]

Curry Powder [40]

Use in:

Dry Creamed Soup Spice Mix [43]

Use in any recipe that calls for a “cream-of” soup.

[44]

Image by Stacy Makes Cents [43]

“Emeril’s Essence” Seasoning Blend [45]

Use in:

Garlic Salt [48]

Use in:

Italian Seasoning [51]

Use in:

[53]

Image by The Nourishing Home [45]

Lemon Pepper [54]

Use in:

Poultry Seasoning [57]

Use in:

Pumpkin Pie Spice [59]

Use in:

[62]

Image by Day2Day Joys

Ranch Dip Mix [63]

Use in:

(Here’s [66]another good ranch dip mix recipe!)

Sausage Seasoning [67]

Use it in:

Taco Seasoning [7]

Use in:

[72]

Image by Your Thriving Family [73]

Tumeric Newari Spice [73]

Use in:

Need more inspiration? I’m constantly adding to my spices/sauces/dips/dressing board [76] on Pinterest. You can follow me here [77].

Two other helpful resources for all things homemade, including many condiments, sauce and more are the recipe ebooks Easy. Homemade. [78] and also Restocking the Pantry [79].

Note: Even some single-ingredient spices contain hidden fillers! Be sure to carefully read the food labels [9] and call the manufacturer if necessary. Many health food stores and co-ops sell spices in bulk. The Bulk Herb Store [80] and Mountain Rose Herbs [81] are two online stores that sell quality herbs and spices.

Other posts in the series:

Real Food Made Simple: A Beginner’s Guide to Eating Better [4]

First Steps to Real Food [82]

What Is Real Food? [83]

Cutting Your Kitchen Prep Time in Half — Or More! [84]

Confessions of a Formerly Picky Eater [85]

How to Read Food Labels [9]

The Grain Controversy: Should We Eat Them or Not? [86]

Second Steps Towards Eating Real Foods: Switching Your Food Sources [87]

Sweeteners: How They Affect You, Which Ones are Best, and How to Use Them [88]

Simple Steps to Begin Cooking Homemade: Pantry Staples [89]

5 Strategies to Help Your Husband and Kids Transition to Real Food  [90]

7 Foods to Avoid [91]

Finding Real Food in the Grocery Store [6]

20 Easy Real Food Switches and Substitutions {with Free Printable Chart} [92]

First Steps to Eating for Fertility [93]

Keeping Costs Down in a Real Food Kitchen [94]

Raising Kids on Real Food [95]

5 Ways to Get More Fruits & Veggies into your Diet [96]

Food Is Not Cheap: 4 Steps to Budgeting in Real Food [97]

Simple Steps to Begin Cooking Homemade: Baked Goods [98]

Simple Roast Chicken (And Fabulous Side Dish Recipes!) [99]

5 Ways Green Living and Real Food are Connected [100]

Simple Steps to Begin Cooking Homemade: Soups, Sauces, and Simple Dinners [101]

Do you make your own spice mixes? What are your favorite spice mixes to make?

 Top Image by jo-h [102]
This post contains affiliate links.

Article printed from Keeper of the Home: http://www.keeperofthehome.org

URL to article: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2013/02/17-homemade-spice-mixes.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Image: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/17-Homemade-Spice-Mixes--e1361066251485.jpg

[2] Erin Odom: http://www.thehumbledhomemaker.com

[3] Real Food Made Simple: A Beginner’s Guide to Eating Better: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/tag/real-food-made-simple

[4] to answer the questions: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2013/01/real-food-made-simple-a-beginners-guide-to-eating-better.html

[5] cooking from scratch: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2012/03/10-ingredients-to-make-from-scratch.html

[6] grocery store: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2013/01/finding-real-food-in-a-grocery-store.html

[7] taco seasoning: http://thehumbledhomemaker.com/2011/07/homemade-homemaking-taco-seasoning.html

[8] Image: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/homemadevsstorecajunseasoning1.jpg

[9] food labels: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2013/01/how-to-read-food-labels.html

[10] modified food starch: http://www.bobsredmill.com/blog/featured-articles/modified-food-starch-demystified/

[11] GMO: http://thehumbledhomemaker.com/2011/06/say-no-to-gmos.html

[12] soybean: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2010/06/the-soy-decoy-dont-be-deceived.html

[13] MSG : http://www.livestrong.com/article/377482-other-names-for-msg-or-monosodium-glutamate/

[14] gluten intolerance: http://thehumbledhomemaker.com/2011/09/jumping-on-gluten-free-bandwagon.html

[15] this: http://ijt.sagepub.com/content/26/1/51

[16] silicon dioxide : http://www.livestrong.com/article/520897-what-is-silicon-dioxide-in-supplements/

[17] Image: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/storebought-spices.jpg

[18] herbs and spices: http://www.mountainroseherbs.com/index.php?AID=087892&BID=676

[19] measuring spoons: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00004SU1I/ref=as_li_tf_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00004SU1I&linkCode=as2&tag=keeofthehom-20

[20] glass jars: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004ZXW4MK/ref=as_li_tf_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B004ZXW4MK&linkCode=as2&tag=keeofthehom-20

[21] baby food jar: http://thehumbledhomemaker.com/2012/03/repurposing-baby-food-jars-first-years.html

[22] canning jar: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2012/04/31-ways-to-use-a-mason-jar-in-your-kitchen.html

[23] Image: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/homemade-taco-seasoning1.jpg

[24] herb and spice substitutions: http://wp.me/p2B71V-10F

[25] Allspice Alternative: http://wp.me/p2B71V-10w

[26] Cincinnati Chili: http://www.stacymakescents.com/crock-pot-cincinnati-chili

[27] Chocolate Chili: http://adelightfulhome.com/chocolate-chili-yes-chocolate/

[28] Apple Pie Spice Mix: http://thegreenbacksgal.com/homemade-apple-pie-spice/

[29] Slow Cooker Brown Rice Pudding: http://thegreenbacksgal.com/brown-rice-pudding/

[30] 3-2-1 Custard: http://thegreenbacksgal.com/3-2-1-custard/

[31] Cajun Seasoning: http://www.lexienaturals.com/2013/01/homemade-cajun-seasoning.html

[32] Bacon-Wrapped Green Beans: http://www.stacymakescents.com/bacon-wrapped-green-beans

[33] Easy Oven-Roasted Potatoes: http://thehumbledhomemaker.com/2011/10/easy-oven-roasted-potatoes-and-plan-it.html

[34] Chili Powder: http://wp.me/p2B71V-10r

[35] Southwest Taco Soup: http://redandhoney.com/2012/01/southwest-taco-soup-recipe/

[36] The BEST Chili Recipe Ever: http://redandhoney.com/2012/11/your-search-for-the-perfect-chili-recipe-is-officially-over/

[37] Image: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/Cinnamon-Sugar-WMark-e1352210917224.jpg

[38] Whole New Mom: http://wholenewmom.com/recipes/cinnamon-sugar-made-four-ways-and-healthier/

[39] oatmeal: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2012/11/fancy-flavored-oatmeal-made-4-ways-better-than-a-coffee-shop.html

[40] Curry Powder: http://wholenewmom.com/recipes/curry-recipes-how-to-make-curry-curry-powder/

[41] Curried Butternut Squash Soup: http://redandhoney.com/2012/02/curried-butternut-squash-soup-recipe/

[42] Pan-Seared Curried Cod: http://intentionalbygrace.com/2012/06/04/20-minute-meal-pan-seared-curried-cod/

[43] Dry Creamed Soup Spice Mix: http://www.stacymakescents.com/homemade-cream-of-soup-mix

[44] Image: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/Cream-Of-Soup-Mix.jpg

[45] “Emeril’s Essence” Seasoning Blend: http://thenourishinghome.com/2012/03/homemade-emerils-essence-seasoning-blend/

[46] Grilled Shrimp Kabobs: http://thenourishinghome.com/2012/04/grilled-shrimp-kabobs-gf/

[47] Sauteed Sea Scallops: http://thenourishinghome.com/2012/04/sauteed-sea-scallops-gf/

[48] Garlic Salt: http://thehumbledhomemaker.com/2012/04/amazingly-easy-homemade-garlic-salt.html

[49] Pantry Salsa: http://www.stacymakescents.com/pantry-salsa

[50] Easiest Garlic Bread Recipe: http://www.mountainmamacooks.com/2012/01/easiest-garlic-bread-recipe/

[51] Italian Seasoning: http://heavenlyhomemakers.com/more-healthy-salad-dressing-recipes-italian-and-thousand-island

[52] Italian Cream Cheese Chicken Casserole: http://www.naturallyknockedup.com/italian-cream-cheese-chicken-casserole/

[53] Image: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/emeril-essence-1024x689.jpg

[54] Lemon Pepper: http://www.simplyscratch.com/2010/11/homemade-lemon-pepper-seasoning.html

[55] Crock Pot Creamy Lemon Pepper Chicken : http://www.stacymakescents.com/crock-pot-easy-creamy-lemon-pepper-chicken

[56] stir-fry : http://thehumbledhomemaker.com/2011/09/plan-it-dont-panic-meal-plan-for-919.html

[57] Poultry Seasoning: http://wp.me/p2B71V-10u

[58] Crock Pot Stuffing: http://thisfoodthing.com/2007/09/01/sage-breakfast-sausage/

[59] Pumpkin Pie Spice: http://www.thehumbledhomemaker.com/2011/10/homemade-homemaking-pumpkin-pie-spice.html

[60] Pumpkin-Chocolate Chip Breakfast Bars: http://thehumbledhomemaker.com/2012/11/pumpkin-chocolate-chip-breakfast-bars-gluten-dairy-and-egg-free.html

[61] Pumpkin Spice Doughnut Holes: http://wp.me/p2B71V-3h

[62] Image: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/Pumpkin-1.png

[63] Ranch Dip Mix : http://www.keeperofthehome.org http://www.day2dayjoys.com/2012/07/ranch.html

[64] Healthy Chicken Nuggets: http://thenourishinghome.com/2012/03/healthy-chicken-nuggets-gf-option/

[65] Ranch Cheddar Chicken: http://www.bunsinmyoven.com/2012/07/26/ranch-cheddar-chicken/

[66] Here’s : http://www.keeperofthehome.org http://thenourishinghome.com/2012/04/healthy-valley-ranch-dressing-gf/

[67] Sausage Seasoning: http://wholeintentions.com/2011/10/homemade-sausage-seasoning/

[68] Sausage Potato Casserole: http://wholeintentions.com/2009/03/sausage-potato-casserole-only-four/

[69] Biscuits and Sausage Gravy: http://wholeintentions.com/2012/03/gluten-free-biscuits-sausage-gravy/

[70] Tortilla Soup: http://thehumbledhomemaker.com/2012/03/easiest-chicken-tortilla-soup-ever.html

[71] Simple Quesadillas: http://thehumbledhomemaker.com/2012/08/simple-quesadillas.html

[72] Image: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/NewariSalt.jpg

[73] Your Thriving Family : http://www.yourthrivingfamily.com/2013/02/turmeric-newari-spice.html

[74] Fried Chicken: http://thehumbledhomemaker.com/2012/10/rice-flour-fried-chicken.html

[75] Nepali: http://www.nepalhomepage.com/society/recipes/recipes.html

[76] spices/sauces/dips/dressing board: http://pinterest.com/humbledhomemakr/sauces-dips-dressings/

[77] here: http://pinterest.com/humbledhomemakr

[78] Easy. Homemade.: https://www.e-junkie.com/ecom/gb.php?ii=1136551&c=ib&aff=57593&cl=69376

[79] Restocking the Pantry: http://www.nourishingjoy.com/restocking-the-pantry/?ap_id=KeeperHome

[80] Bulk Herb Store: http://www.keeperofthehome.org http://www.bulkherbstore.com/#a_aid=keeperofthehome

[81] Mountain Rose Herbs: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/3dd

[82] First Steps to Real Food: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2013/01/first-steps-to-real-food.html

[83] What Is Real Food?: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2013/01/what-is-real-food.html

[84] Cutting Your Kitchen Prep Time in Half — Or More!: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2013/01/cutting-your-kitchen-prep-time-in-half-or-more.html

[85] Confessions of a Formerly Picky Eater: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2013/01/confessions-of-a-formerly-picky-eater.html

[86] The Grain Controversy: Should We Eat Them or Not?: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2013/01/the-grain-controversy-should-we-eat-them-or-not.html

[87] Second Steps Towards Eating Real Foods: Switching Your Food Sources: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2013/01/second-steps-towards-eating-real-foods-switching-your-food-sources.html

[88] Sweeteners: How They Affect You, Which Ones are Best, and How to Use Them: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2013/01/sweeteners-how-they-affect-you-which-ones-are-best-and-how-to-use-them.html

[89] Simple Steps to Begin Cooking Homemade: Pantry Staples: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2013/01/simple-steps-to-begin-cooking-homemade-pantry-staples-2.html

[90] 5 Strategies to Help Your Husband and Kids Transition to Real Food : http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2013/01/5-strategies-to-help-your-husband-and-kids-transition-to-real-food.html

[91] 7 Foods to Avoid: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2013/01/7-foods-to-avoid.html

[92] 20 Easy Real Food Switches and Substitutions {with Free Printable Chart}: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2013/01/20-easy-real-food-switches-and-substitutions-with-free-printable-chart.html

[93] First Steps to Eating for Fertility: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2013/01/first-steps-to-eating-for-fertility.html

[94] Keeping Costs Down in a Real Food Kitchen: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2013/01/keeping-costs-down-in-a-real-food-kitchen.html

[95] Raising Kids on Real Food: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2013/02/raising-kids-on-real-food.html

[96] 5 Ways to Get More Fruits & Veggies into your Diet: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2013/02/5-ways-to-get-more-fruits-veggies-into-your-diet.html

[97] Food Is Not Cheap: 4 Steps to Budgeting in Real Food: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2013/02/food-is-not-cheap-4-steps-to-budgeting-in-real-food.html

[98] Simple Steps to Begin Cooking Homemade: Baked Goods: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2013/02/simple-steps-to-begin-cooking-homemade-baked-goods.html

[99] Simple Roast Chicken (And Fabulous Side Dish Recipes!): http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2013/02/simple-roast-chicken-and-fabulous-side-dish-recipes.html

[100] 5 Ways Green Living and Real Food are Connected: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2013/02/5-ways-green-living-and-real-food-are-connected.html

[101] Simple Steps to Begin Cooking Homemade: Soups, Sauces, and Simple Dinners: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2013/03/simple-steps-to-begin-cooking-homemade-soups-sauces-and-simple-dinners.html

[102] jo-h: http://www.flickr.com/photos/jo-h/

Copyright © 2012 Keeper of the Home. All rights reserved.