- Keeper of the Home - http://www.keeperofthehome.org -

17 Homemade Spice Mixes {with Recipes & Why You Should Use Them!}

Posted By Erin O On February 22, 2013 @ 3:00 am In Baby Steps,Do it yourself,Featured,Herbs,Homemade,In the kitchen,Real, whole food,Realfoodmadesimple,Recipes | Comments Disabled

UHomB 600x345 [1]

Are you looking for ways to improve your homemaking skills? How about some new recipes?

Or maybe you really need some inspiration for your faith, your mothering, your marriage

What if you could get all these things and more, in one HUGE awesome package of digital resources (plus $200 of bonus freebies) for less than $30?

The Ultimate Homemaking Bundle is 95% off of retail value and worth almost $900! Interested?

Read more here! [2]

17 Homemade Spice Mixes  e1361066251485 [3]

By Erin Odom [4], Contributing Writer

Are you working to ditch processed foods and put more real food on the table? We’re running a series called Real Food Made Simple: A Beginner’s Guide to Eating Better [5]. Our goal is to answer the questions [6] you might have and make the transition a whole lot easier!

Even before I started cooking from scratch [7], I started making my own homemade spice mixes.

At first, it was out of pure laziness. I don’t like to shop. Even before I had kids, I didn’t like to run out to the grocery store [8] for an item or two on my ingredient list if I could avoid it. And, hence, I started making things at home.

The very first spice mix for me to make on my own was taco seasoning [9]. I think back then I googled a recipe, and when I realized I had all the ingredients on hand, I was elated.

The next time I was at the store, I checked the ingredient list on the back of the taco seasoning mix I normally purchased. Surely the ingredients would be the same, right?

Wrong.

homemadevsstorecajunseasoning1 [10]

The food labels [11] on the bulk of store-bought seasoning mixes are full of fillers, preservatives and other unwanted fake flavor enhancers. These ingredients include:

  • modified food starch [12] (a thickener, often derived from GMO [13] sources but not always),
  • sugar,
  • partially hydrogenated vegetable oils (trans fat and often made from a GMO [13] oil sources, such as cottonseed, canola or soybean [14]),
  • MSG (including “hidden” MSG [15]under other names)
  • hidden gluten (dangerous for those with a gluten intolerance [16] or celiac disease)
  • natural flavorings (So what’s the big deal here? Read this [17].)
  • silicon dioxide [18](to prevent caking–not necessarily bad but an additive to know about nonetheless)
  • spices (This sounds innocent…but what exactly are these anonymous “spices”?),
  • and more.

After learning that store-bought spice mixes aren’t always so wholesome, I committed to making my seasonings at home–for both convenience and health reasons.

storebought spices [19]

How to Make Your Own

Seriously, making your own spice mixes is probably the easiest kitchen task you will ever do.

Supplies Needed:

Method:

Simply combine all the individual spices together in a jar, shake the jar and–voila!–you have your spice mixes!

I have sometimes gotten in the rut of making just what I needed per meal at the time I am cooking. This is inconvenient and tags extra time onto dinner prep. I now mix up a whole canning jar at once, label the top with the ingredients needed to fill the jar as well as with the amounts needed in recipes I make frequently.

homemade taco seasoning1 [25]

But what if you don’t have all the single-ingredient herbs and spices?

No problem! Check out this handy list of herb and spice substitutions [26].

Homemade Spice Mixes

And now, the moment you’ve been waiting for: check out this full line-up of homemade spice mixes! I’ve also included some recipes that call for these mixes. Your family will thank you for never entering the spice mix aisle of the grocery store [8] again!

Allspice Alternative [27]

Use in:

Apple Pie Spice Mix [30]

Use in:

Cajun Seasoning [33]

Use in:

Chili Powder [36]

Use in:

Cinnamon Sugar WMark e1352210917224 [39]

Image by Whole New Mom [40]

Cinnamon Sugar [40]

Use to:

  • sprinkle on toast or other baked goods
  • sprinkle in oatmeal [41]

Curry Powder [42]

Use in:

Dry Creamed Soup Spice Mix [45]

Use in any recipe that calls for a “cream-of” soup.

Cream Of Soup Mix [46]

Image by Stacy Makes Cents [45]

“Emeril’s Essence” Seasoning Blend [47]

Use in:

Garlic Salt [50]

Use in:

Italian Seasoning [53]

Use in:

emeril essence 1024x689 [55]

Image by The Nourishing Home [47]

Lemon Pepper [56]

Use in:

Poultry Seasoning [59]

Use in:

Pumpkin Pie Spice [61]

Use in:

Pumpkin 1 [64]

Image by Day2Day Joys

Ranch Dip Mix [65]

Use in:

(Here’s [68]another good ranch dip mix recipe!)

Sausage Seasoning [69]

Use it in:

Taco Seasoning [9]

Use in:

NewariSalt [74]

Image by Your Thriving Family [75]

Tumeric Newari Spice [75]

Use in:

Need more inspiration? I’m constantly adding to my spices/sauces/dips/dressing board [78] on Pinterest. You can follow me here [79].

Two other helpful resources for all things homemade, including many condiments, sauce and more are the recipe ebooks Easy. Homemade. [80] and also Restocking the Pantry [81].

Note: Even some single-ingredient spices contain hidden fillers! Be sure to carefully read the food labels [11] and call the manufacturer if necessary. Many health food stores and co-ops sell spices in bulk. The Bulk Herb Store [82] and Mountain Rose Herbs [83] are two online stores that sell quality herbs and spices.

Other posts in the series:

Real Food Made Simple: A Beginner’s Guide to Eating Better [6]

First Steps to Real Food [84]

What Is Real Food? [85]

Cutting Your Kitchen Prep Time in Half — Or More! [86]

Confessions of a Formerly Picky Eater [87]

How to Read Food Labels [11]

The Grain Controversy: Should We Eat Them or Not? [88]

Second Steps Towards Eating Real Foods: Switching Your Food Sources [89]

Sweeteners: How They Affect You, Which Ones are Best, and How to Use Them [90]

Simple Steps to Begin Cooking Homemade: Pantry Staples [91]

5 Strategies to Help Your Husband and Kids Transition to Real Food  [92]

7 Foods to Avoid [93]

Finding Real Food in the Grocery Store [8]

20 Easy Real Food Switches and Substitutions {with Free Printable Chart} [94]

First Steps to Eating for Fertility [95]

Keeping Costs Down in a Real Food Kitchen [96]

Raising Kids on Real Food [97]

5 Ways to Get More Fruits & Veggies into your Diet [98]

Food Is Not Cheap: 4 Steps to Budgeting in Real Food [99]

Simple Steps to Begin Cooking Homemade: Baked Goods [100]

Simple Roast Chicken (And Fabulous Side Dish Recipes!) [101]

5 Ways Green Living and Real Food are Connected [102]

Simple Steps to Begin Cooking Homemade: Soups, Sauces, and Simple Dinners [103]

Do you make your own spice mixes? What are your favorite spice mixes to make?

 Top Image by jo-h [104]
This post contains affiliate links.

Article printed from Keeper of the Home: http://www.keeperofthehome.org

URL to article: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2013/02/17-homemade-spice-mixes.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Image: https://us154.infusionsoft.com/go/bundle/a182

[2] Read more here!: https://us154.infusionsoft.com/go/bundle/a182/

[3] Image: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/wp/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/17-Homemade-Spice-Mixes--e1361066251485.jpg

[4] Erin Odom: http://www.thehumbledhomemaker.com

[5] Real Food Made Simple: A Beginner’s Guide to Eating Better: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/tag/real-food-made-simple

[6] to answer the questions: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2013/01/real-food-made-simple-a-beginners-guide-to-eating-better.html

[7] cooking from scratch: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2012/03/10-ingredients-to-make-from-scratch.html

[8] grocery store: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2013/01/finding-real-food-in-a-grocery-store.html

[9] taco seasoning: http://thehumbledhomemaker.com/2011/07/homemade-homemaking-taco-seasoning.html

[10] Image: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/wp/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/homemadevsstorecajunseasoning1.jpg

[11] food labels: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2013/01/how-to-read-food-labels.html

[12] modified food starch: http://www.bobsredmill.com/blog/featured-articles/modified-food-starch-demystified/

[13] GMO: http://thehumbledhomemaker.com/2011/06/say-no-to-gmos.html

[14] soybean: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2010/06/the-soy-decoy-dont-be-deceived.html

[15] MSG : http://www.livestrong.com/article/377482-other-names-for-msg-or-monosodium-glutamate/

[16] gluten intolerance: http://thehumbledhomemaker.com/2011/09/jumping-on-gluten-free-bandwagon.html

[17] this: http://ijt.sagepub.com/content/26/1/51

[18] silicon dioxide : http://www.livestrong.com/article/520897-what-is-silicon-dioxide-in-supplements/

[19] Image: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/wp/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/storebought-spices.jpg

[20] herbs and spices: http://www.mountainroseherbs.com/index.php?AID=087892&BID=676

[21] measuring spoons: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00004SU1I/ref=as_li_tf_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00004SU1I&linkCode=as2&tag=keeofthehom-20

[22] glass jars: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004ZXW4MK/ref=as_li_tf_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B004ZXW4MK&linkCode=as2&tag=keeofthehom-20

[23] baby food jar: http://thehumbledhomemaker.com/2012/03/repurposing-baby-food-jars-first-years.html

[24] canning jar: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2012/04/31-ways-to-use-a-mason-jar-in-your-kitchen.html

[25] Image: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/wp/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/homemade-taco-seasoning1.jpg

[26] herb and spice substitutions: http://wp.me/p2B71V-10F

[27] Allspice Alternative: http://wp.me/p2B71V-10w

[28] Cincinnati Chili: http://www.stacymakescents.com/crock-pot-cincinnati-chili

[29] Chocolate Chili: http://adelightfulhome.com/chocolate-chili-yes-chocolate/

[30] Apple Pie Spice Mix: http://thegreenbacksgal.com/homemade-apple-pie-spice/

[31] Slow Cooker Brown Rice Pudding: http://thegreenbacksgal.com/brown-rice-pudding/

[32] 3-2-1 Custard: http://thegreenbacksgal.com/3-2-1-custard/

[33] Cajun Seasoning: http://www.lexienaturals.com/2013/01/homemade-cajun-seasoning.html

[34] Bacon-Wrapped Green Beans: http://www.stacymakescents.com/bacon-wrapped-green-beans

[35] Easy Oven-Roasted Potatoes: http://thehumbledhomemaker.com/2011/10/easy-oven-roasted-potatoes-and-plan-it.html

[36] Chili Powder: http://wp.me/p2B71V-10r

[37] Southwest Taco Soup: http://redandhoney.com/2012/01/southwest-taco-soup-recipe/

[38] The BEST Chili Recipe Ever: http://redandhoney.com/2012/11/your-search-for-the-perfect-chili-recipe-is-officially-over/

[39] Image: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/wp/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/Cinnamon-Sugar-WMark-e1352210917224.jpg

[40] Whole New Mom: http://wholenewmom.com/recipes/cinnamon-sugar-made-four-ways-and-healthier/

[41] oatmeal: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2012/11/fancy-flavored-oatmeal-made-4-ways-better-than-a-coffee-shop.html

[42] Curry Powder: http://wholenewmom.com/recipes/curry-recipes-how-to-make-curry-curry-powder/

[43] Curried Butternut Squash Soup: http://redandhoney.com/2012/02/curried-butternut-squash-soup-recipe/

[44] Pan-Seared Curried Cod: http://intentionalbygrace.com/2012/06/04/20-minute-meal-pan-seared-curried-cod/

[45] Dry Creamed Soup Spice Mix: http://www.stacymakescents.com/homemade-cream-of-soup-mix

[46] Image: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/wp/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/Cream-Of-Soup-Mix.jpg

[47] “Emeril’s Essence” Seasoning Blend: http://thenourishinghome.com/2012/03/homemade-emerils-essence-seasoning-blend/

[48] Grilled Shrimp Kabobs: http://thenourishinghome.com/2012/04/grilled-shrimp-kabobs-gf/

[49] Sauteed Sea Scallops: http://thenourishinghome.com/2012/04/sauteed-sea-scallops-gf/

[50] Garlic Salt: http://thehumbledhomemaker.com/2012/04/amazingly-easy-homemade-garlic-salt.html

[51] Pantry Salsa: http://www.stacymakescents.com/pantry-salsa

[52] Easiest Garlic Bread Recipe: http://www.mountainmamacooks.com/2012/01/easiest-garlic-bread-recipe/

[53] Italian Seasoning: http://heavenlyhomemakers.com/more-healthy-salad-dressing-recipes-italian-and-thousand-island

[54] Italian Cream Cheese Chicken Casserole: http://www.naturallyknockedup.com/italian-cream-cheese-chicken-casserole/

[55] Image: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/wp/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/emeril-essence-1024x689.jpg

[56] Lemon Pepper: http://www.simplyscratch.com/2010/11/homemade-lemon-pepper-seasoning.html

[57] Crock Pot Creamy Lemon Pepper Chicken : http://www.stacymakescents.com/crock-pot-easy-creamy-lemon-pepper-chicken

[58] stir-fry : http://thehumbledhomemaker.com/2011/09/plan-it-dont-panic-meal-plan-for-919.html

[59] Poultry Seasoning: http://wp.me/p2B71V-10u

[60] Crock Pot Stuffing: http://thisfoodthing.com/2007/09/01/sage-breakfast-sausage/

[61] Pumpkin Pie Spice: http://www.thehumbledhomemaker.com/2011/10/homemade-homemaking-pumpkin-pie-spice.html

[62] Pumpkin-Chocolate Chip Breakfast Bars: http://thehumbledhomemaker.com/2012/11/pumpkin-chocolate-chip-breakfast-bars-gluten-dairy-and-egg-free.html

[63] Pumpkin Spice Doughnut Holes: http://wp.me/p2B71V-3h

[64] Image: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/wp/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/Pumpkin-1.png

[65] Ranch Dip Mix : http://www.keeperofthehome.org http://www.day2dayjoys.com/2012/07/ranch.html

[66] Healthy Chicken Nuggets: http://thenourishinghome.com/2012/03/healthy-chicken-nuggets-gf-option/

[67] Ranch Cheddar Chicken: http://www.bunsinmyoven.com/2012/07/26/ranch-cheddar-chicken/

[68] Here’s : http://www.keeperofthehome.org http://thenourishinghome.com/2012/04/healthy-valley-ranch-dressing-gf/

[69] Sausage Seasoning: http://wholeintentions.com/2011/10/homemade-sausage-seasoning/

[70] Sausage Potato Casserole: http://wholeintentions.com/2009/03/sausage-potato-casserole-only-four/

[71] Biscuits and Sausage Gravy: http://wholeintentions.com/2012/03/gluten-free-biscuits-sausage-gravy/

[72] Tortilla Soup: http://thehumbledhomemaker.com/2012/03/easiest-chicken-tortilla-soup-ever.html

[73] Simple Quesadillas: http://thehumbledhomemaker.com/2012/08/simple-quesadillas.html

[74] Image: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/wp/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/NewariSalt.jpg

[75] Your Thriving Family : http://www.yourthrivingfamily.com/2013/02/turmeric-newari-spice.html

[76] Fried Chicken: http://thehumbledhomemaker.com/2012/10/rice-flour-fried-chicken.html

[77] Nepali: http://www.nepalhomepage.com/society/recipes/recipes.html

[78] spices/sauces/dips/dressing board: http://pinterest.com/humbledhomemakr/sauces-dips-dressings/

[79] here: http://pinterest.com/humbledhomemakr

[80] Easy. Homemade.: https://www.e-junkie.com/ecom/gb.php?ii=1136551&c=ib&aff=57593&cl=69376

[81] Restocking the Pantry: http://www.nourishingjoy.com/restocking-the-pantry/?ap_id=KeeperHome

[82] Bulk Herb Store: http://www.keeperofthehome.org http://www.bulkherbstore.com/#a_aid=keeperofthehome

[83] Mountain Rose Herbs: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/3dd

[84] First Steps to Real Food: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2013/01/first-steps-to-real-food.html

[85] What Is Real Food?: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2013/01/what-is-real-food.html

[86] Cutting Your Kitchen Prep Time in Half — Or More!: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2013/01/cutting-your-kitchen-prep-time-in-half-or-more.html

[87] Confessions of a Formerly Picky Eater: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2013/01/confessions-of-a-formerly-picky-eater.html

[88] The Grain Controversy: Should We Eat Them or Not?: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2013/01/the-grain-controversy-should-we-eat-them-or-not.html

[89] Second Steps Towards Eating Real Foods: Switching Your Food Sources: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2013/01/second-steps-towards-eating-real-foods-switching-your-food-sources.html

[90] Sweeteners: How They Affect You, Which Ones are Best, and How to Use Them: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2013/01/sweeteners-how-they-affect-you-which-ones-are-best-and-how-to-use-them.html

[91] Simple Steps to Begin Cooking Homemade: Pantry Staples: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2013/01/simple-steps-to-begin-cooking-homemade-pantry-staples-2.html

[92] 5 Strategies to Help Your Husband and Kids Transition to Real Food : http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2013/01/5-strategies-to-help-your-husband-and-kids-transition-to-real-food.html

[93] 7 Foods to Avoid: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2013/01/7-foods-to-avoid.html

[94] 20 Easy Real Food Switches and Substitutions {with Free Printable Chart}: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2013/01/20-easy-real-food-switches-and-substitutions-with-free-printable-chart.html

[95] First Steps to Eating for Fertility: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2013/01/first-steps-to-eating-for-fertility.html

[96] Keeping Costs Down in a Real Food Kitchen: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2013/01/keeping-costs-down-in-a-real-food-kitchen.html

[97] Raising Kids on Real Food: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2013/02/raising-kids-on-real-food.html

[98] 5 Ways to Get More Fruits & Veggies into your Diet: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2013/02/5-ways-to-get-more-fruits-veggies-into-your-diet.html

[99] Food Is Not Cheap: 4 Steps to Budgeting in Real Food: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2013/02/food-is-not-cheap-4-steps-to-budgeting-in-real-food.html

[100] Simple Steps to Begin Cooking Homemade: Baked Goods: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2013/02/simple-steps-to-begin-cooking-homemade-baked-goods.html

[101] Simple Roast Chicken (And Fabulous Side Dish Recipes!): http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2013/02/simple-roast-chicken-and-fabulous-side-dish-recipes.html

[102] 5 Ways Green Living and Real Food are Connected: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2013/02/5-ways-green-living-and-real-food-are-connected.html

[103] Simple Steps to Begin Cooking Homemade: Soups, Sauces, and Simple Dinners: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2013/03/simple-steps-to-begin-cooking-homemade-soups-sauces-and-simple-dinners.html

[104] jo-h: http://www.flickr.com/photos/jo-h/

Copyright © 2012 Keeper of the Home. All rights reserved.