- Keeper of the Home - http://www.keeperofthehome.org -

25 Grain Free Desserts (and a Chocolate Truffle Recipe)

Posted By Stacy Karen On December 7, 2012 @ 3:00 am In Holidays,In the kitchen,Real Food,Real, whole food,Recipes,Seasonal eating | Comments Disabled

[1]

By Stacy K [2]., Contributing Writer

Over the past few months I have been working toward eliminating grains [3]from my diet. I haven’t felt this good in quite some time.

While going grain free [4] may not be for everyone, I am convinced that reducing the amount of grains we consume would be beneficial to most.

With the holidays coming up, I thought it might be challenging to find treats that are grain free, until I started looking! There are a plethora of grain free recipes and resources online, which makes holiday baking much easier. No need to adapt recipes or deal with baking flops. Hooray!

Today I want to share a number of wonderful grain-free dessert recipes with you, but before I do, I must pass along the most important piece of information of all: how to make chocolate truffles.

Chocolate truffles are a delicious indulgence. Not only are they grain free, but they only contain four ingredients! They appear fancy, and you might think they are complicated to make, but let me assure you, they are not (the hardest part is rolling them).

Homemade Chocolate Truffles

[5]

Ingredients

12 ounces bittersweet chocolate
3/4 cup heavy cream
2 tablespoons butter
3/4 cup good quality cocoa powder [6]

Optional: shredded coconut, chopped walnuts

Method

Chop chocolate into small pieces then place in a heat proof bowl and set aside.

Warm cream and butter in a saucepan until it comes to a boil. Immediately pour over the chopped chocolate and stir until the chocolate has melted.

Pour this mixture (which is called ganache) into a casserole dish and leave to cool. Once the ganache has cooled to room temperature, cover with plastic wrap and place in the fridge for about two hours.

Once the ganache has hardened, remove from the fridge. Use a melon baller or round measuring spoon to scrape about 2 teaspoons worth of hardened ganache out of the casserole pan and quickly roll into a ball. Roll the ball in the cocoa powder and set aside on a tray.

If the mixture becomes too soft to work with, put it back in the fridge to harden. Dusting your hands with cocoa powder can also help as you roll the balls.

Store truffles in the fridge for up to a week.

Truffles can also be rolled in shredded coconut or chopped nuts.

If you want to take these truffles a step further, try these Herb Infused Chocolate Truffles [7] (they are still very easy to make).

So now that you know how to make the all-important chocolate truffle, I will share some other grain free desserts that you might like to try this holiday season (or anytime you want a grain free treat).

Grain Free Desserts

[8]

Source: thenourishinggourmet.com [9] via Stacy [10] on Pinterest [11]

Cookies and Bars

Chocolate Covered Coconut Snowballs [9] @ The Nourishing Gourmet (pictured above)
High-Protein Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies [12]
Grain free Chocolate Chip Cookies [13] (also dairy and egg free)
Chocolate Thumbprint Cookies [14]
Grain Free Gingerbread Men [15]
Almond Joy Bars [16]
Lemon Coconut Brownies [17]
Raw Chocolate Pumpkin Pecan Macaroons [18]
Super Easy Triple Chocolate Peanut Butter Truffles [19]
Chocolate Chip Coconut Macadamia Cookies [20]

Cakes

Grain Free Chocolate Red Velvet Cake [21]
Grain Free Banana Cake [22]
Strawberry Shortcake [23](also dairy free)
White Bean Vanilla Cake [24]
Chocolate Chestnut Mousse Cake [25]
Molten Lava Chocolate Cake [26]

Fudge and Bark

Healthy Chocolate Peanut Butter Fudge [27]
Dark Chocolate Peppermint Fudge [28]
Chocolate Walnut Freezer Fudge [29]
Dark Chocolate Almond Bark with Ginger, Pumpkin Seeds and Apricots [30]
Chocolate Macadamia Bark [31]

Mousse and Ice cream

Instant Pumpkin Ice Cream [32]
Chocolate Custard [33]
Coconut Lime Mousse [34]
Coffee Ice Cream [35]

Stephanie’s note: Stacy’s truffles have me drooling… I can’t wait to make these! Our family has also been seeking to eat more grain free of late, and I know it can be challenging to find recipes. If you’re looking for more grain free inspiration, two of my favorite e-cookbook resources for this are Against the Grain [36] (mostly savory foods- meals and sides) and Treat Yourself [36] ( [36]wholesome treats, many of which are grain free).

What’s your favorite Grain Free Dessert?

Disclosure: This post includes affiliate links. And chocolate… lots of chocolate.

Article printed from Keeper of the Home: http://www.keeperofthehome.org

URL to article: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2012/12/25-grain-free-desserts-and-a-chocolate-truffle-recipe.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Image: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/wp-content/uploads/2012/12/25desserts.jpg

[2] Stacy K: http://www.adelightfulhome.com

[3] eliminating grains : http://realfitmoms.com/why-im-going-grain-free/

[4] going grain free: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2011/06/building-a-grain-free-pantry.html

[5] Image: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/wp-content/uploads/2012/12/homemadechocolatetruffles.jpg

[6] cocoa powder: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001VNFHLC/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B001VNFHLC&linkCode=as2&tag=keeofthehom-20

[7] Herb Infused Chocolate Truffles: http://adelightfulhome.com/?p=6913

[8] Image: http://pinterest.com/pin/82683343130463310/

[9] thenourishinggourmet.com: http://www.thenourishinggourmet.com/2012/11/chocolate-covered-coconut-snowballs-gluten-grain-and-dairy-free.html

[10] Stacy: http://pinterest.com/stacykaren/

[11] Pinterest: http://pinterest.com

[12] High-Protein Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies : http://thecheapskatecook.com/2012/11/09/high-protein-peanut-butter-chocolate-chip-cookies-grain-free-vegan/

[13] Grain free Chocolate Chip Cookies: http://urbanposer.blogspot.com/2012/07/perfect-grain-free-chocolate-chip.html

[14] Chocolate Thumbprint Cookies: http://beta.primal-palate.com/recipe/chocolate-thumbprint-cookies/

[15] Grain Free Gingerbread Men: http://glutenfreescdandveggie.blogspot.co.uk/2012/11/grain-free-gingerbread-men-gf-scd.html

[16] Almond Joy Bars: http://wholenewmom.com/recipes/healthy-chocolate-almond-joy-home-made-candy/

[17] Lemon Coconut Brownies: http://www.seasonalandsavory.com/2012/10/lemon-coconut-brownies-grain-free.html

[18] Raw Chocolate Pumpkin Pecan Macaroons: http://civilizedcavemancooking.com/grain-free-goodies/raw-chocolate-pumpkin-pecan-macaroons/

[19] Super Easy Triple Chocolate Peanut Butter Truffles: http://thehumbledhomemaker.com/2011/12/super-easy-triple-chocolate-peanut.html

[20] Chocolate Chip Coconut Macadamia Cookies: http://wholenewmom.com/recipes/gluten-free-cookies-chocolate-chip-paleo-recipe/

[21] Grain Free Chocolate Red Velvet Cake: http://www.riddlelove.com/2012/10/gluten-free-grain-free-chocolate-red.html

[22] Grain Free Banana Cake: http://www.foodrenegade.com/grainfree-banana-cake/

[23] Strawberry Shortcake : http://urbanposer.blogspot.com/2012/07/dairy-grain-free-strawberry-shortcake.html

[24] White Bean Vanilla Cake: http://www.modernalternativemama.com/blog/2011/2/10/recipe-collection-white-bean-vanilla-cake.html

[25] Chocolate Chestnut Mousse Cake: http://deliciouslyorganic.net/chocolate-chestnut-cake-grain-free-paleo/

[26] Molten Lava Chocolate Cake: http://www.thepaleomom.com/2012/01/recipe-molten-lava-chocolate-cake.html

[27] Healthy Chocolate Peanut Butter Fudge: http://creatingnaturally.com/healthy-chocolate-peanut-butter-fudge/

[28] Dark Chocolate Peppermint Fudge: http://authenticsimplicity.net/2010/12/dark-chocolate-peppermint-fudge/

[29] Chocolate Walnut Freezer Fudge: http://www.thepaleomom.com/2012/04/recipe-chocolate-walnut-freezer-fudge.html

[30] Dark Chocolate Almond Bark with Ginger, Pumpkin Seeds and Apricots: http://gourmandeinthekitchen.com/2011/dark-chocolate-bark-with-ginger-pumpkin-seeds-and-apricots-recipe/

[31] Chocolate Macadamia Bark: http://paleotable.com/2012/10/no-cheat-chocolate-macadamia-bark/

[32] Instant Pumpkin Ice Cream: http://www.againstallgrain.com/2012/11/26/instant-pumpkin-ice-cream/

[33] Chocolate Custard: http://everydaypaleo.com/2011/02/15/chocolate-custard/

[34] Coconut Lime Mousse: http://authenticsimplicity.net/2011/04/coconut-lime-mousse-aka-heaven-in-a-cup/

[35] Coffee Ice Cream: http://beta.primal-palate.com/recipe/coffee-ice-cream/#

[36] Against the Grain: http://www.modernalternativemama.com/product-detail/2011/7/27/ebook-bundles.html?ap_id=keeperhome

Copyright © 2012 Keeper of the Home. All rights reserved.