- Keeper of the Home - http://www.keeperofthehome.org -

Jump into Fall with over 30 Pumpkin Ideas

Posted By Rachel On October 12, 2012 @ 3:00 am In Children,Real Food,Seasonal eating | Comments Disabled

[1]

Written by Rachel, Contributing Writer

Y’all, you know I don’t really say that in real life but there is just something about this time of year that brings out that southern greeting. It’s Fall Y’all and that means pumpkins, pumpkins, pumpkins!

Pumpkins are used in recipes, for decorations and soon to be carved [2] into silly faces, for themed crafts and learning activities and so much more, you literally can get overwhelmed if you search pumpkin on Pinterest [3].

This post will give you a rundown on all things pumpkin…

Health Benefits

With all the good ole’ fun it’s no wonder that pumpkins are also good super-foods for our health and boost your immune system [4]. Pumpkins are full of vitamins and minerals [5] essential to living a healthy life!

That rich orange color we all love, is full of beta-carotenes which turns to vitamin A in your body. Beta carotene has been shown to lower heart disease and is full of antioxidants.  Pumpkins are also low in sugar and high in fiber which helps your digestion.

With all those health benefits I’m so glad that there are so many healthy recipes to try, especially with a super-food like pumpkin.

Recipes

When is comes to cooking with pumpkin, it doesn’t matter whether you use fresh or canned as far as health benefits go. Since I am a busy mom, I don’t have time to cook pumpkin [6]so I use the organic canned pumpkin [7]. Do whatever works for you!

[8]

Pumpkin Blueberry Pancakes [9]
Pumpkin Spice Pancakes [10]
Pup’kin Pumpkin Dog Biscuits [11]
Pumpkin Soup [12]
Pumpkin Pie Casserole [13]
Pumpkin Walnut Bread [14]
Pumpkin Cookies [15]
Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Cookies [16]
Crockpot Pumpkin Spice Latte [17]
7 Layer Pumpkin Bars [18]
Delightful Cream Cheese Pumpkin Muffins [19]
Pumpkin-Cran Smoothie [20]

Pumpkin Pie Smoothie

[21]

This recipe is so very simple! All you need are a few ingredients and a great blender [22] and your set!

What you need:

  • 1/3+ tsp harvest pumpkin spice [23], depending on your taste
  • 1/2 tsp  vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup frozen pumpkin (cubes from silicone tray)
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1-3 Tbsp honey (or sweetener of your choice)
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder *optional*
  • Handful of Ice cubes

What to Do:

  1. Add all ingredients into a blender, except protein powder.
  2. Blend together until desired consistency, add more milk or water as needed.
  3. Once you have your desired consistency, add in protein powder but only blend until mixed (about 10 seconds or less). If you overdo it, the protein powder will make the smoothie too frothy.
  4. Enjoy your pumpkin smoothie! Yum!

Pumpkin How-to’s

How to Carve a Pumpkin [24]
How to Grow Pumpkins [25]
How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds [26]
How to Cook a Pumpkin [27]
How to Can Pumpkin [28]

[29]

Crafts & Learning Activities for Youngsters

Paper Plate Pumpkin [30]
Tin Can Pumpkin [31]
Pasta Pumpkin Craft [32]
Pumpkin Play Dough [33]

Pumpkin Yarn Craft

[34]

What you need:
orange yarn
a couple balloons
multi-purpose glue (like elmer’s or make your own paste with flour and water)
1/4 C water
green pipe cleaners, green & black felt
scissors
small bowl
plenty of paper towels

optional: kabob stick for stirring and popping ballons

[35]

What to do:

To make this fun with as little mess as possible (this IS a messy craft), follow these simple steps.

  1. Gather supplies, decide number of yarn pumpkins you’ll be making
  2. Blow up your balloons and tie a knot
  3. Cut yarn in 2-4 feet strips depending on your balloons sizes, set aside (3-5 strips per ballon)
  4. In a cereal bowl make glue paste using the whole bottle of glue, and 1/4 C water, mix well, set aside
  5. Dip your yarn into the glue paste, then lightly slide yarn through 2 fingers dripping access glue off
  6. Wrap yarn around pumpkin, overlapping pieces of yarn to make it sturdy
  7. Once all yarn is wrapped around balloon, hang dry or set on a jar for 1-2 days
  8. Once dry, pop balloon and pull thru an opening
  9. Use the pipe cleaners & felt to make a stem, twirly vines, leaves or a jack o’ lantern face
  10. Display for all to see, your kids will love their crafty pumpkins

More Preschool Ideas:

Popsicle Stick Pumpkin Puzzle [36]
Tissue Paper Pumpkins [37]
Preschool Pumpkin Printables [38]

Decorations & Gifts

Pumpkin Pie Spice Sugar Scrub [39]
Simple Thoughtful Pumpkin Note [40]
Pumpkin Flower Vase [41]
Canning Jar Lid Pumpkin [42]

Well, there ya go, all things pumpkin!

When you see all the pumpkins around let them be a reminder to you that they are healthy super-foods that boost you and your children’s immune systems, they are also decorations, and inspiration for your heart, soul and tummies!

Take some time this fall to get into the kitchen baking with your kids and try out one of these great recipes. Or better yet, make a craft with your kiddos. They will love to show off their pumpkin crafts!

*To save you some time, I have pinned all these recipes & ideas to the All Things Pumpkin [43] board! Happy Fall!

What are your favorite things to do with pumpkins?

Disclosure: This post includes an affiliate link.

Article printed from Keeper of the Home: http://www.keeperofthehome.org

URL to article: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2012/10/jump-into-fall-with-over-30-pumpkin-ideas.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Image: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/wp/wp-content/uploads/2012/10/Jump-into-Fall-with-30+-Pumpkin-Ideas1.jpg

[2] carved: http://www.day2dayjoys.com/2011/10/carving-pumpkins.html

[3] Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/koth/

[4] immune system: http://www.day2dayjoys.com/2011/09/how-to-have-healthy-immune-system.html

[5] vitamins and minerals: http://www.livestrong.com/article/341517-what-vitamins-minerals-do-pumpkins-contain/

[6] cook pumpkin : http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2009/09/play-it-again-canning-pumpkins.html

[7] organic canned pumpkin: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0062A87HA/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B0062A87HA&linkCode=as2&tag=keeofthehom-20

[8] Image: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/wp/wp-content/uploads/2012/10/Pumpkin-Harvest-Spice-1.jpg

[9] Pumpkin Blueberry Pancakes: http://www.draxe.com/recipe/pumpkin-blueberry-pancakes/

[10] Pumpkin Spice Pancakes: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2011/12/pumpkin-spice-pancakes-a-perfect-winter-breakfast.html

[11] Pup’kin Pumpkin Dog Biscuits: http://www.bestbullysticks.com/blog/weekly-drool-recipes/weekly-drool-recipe-pupkin-pumpkin-dog-biscuits/

[12] Pumpkin Soup: http://www.thesimplemoms.com/2012/09/a-simple-real-food-pumpkin-soup-dairy-free-option.html

[13] Pumpkin Pie Casserole: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2011/11/pumpkin-pie-casserole-an-autumn-comfort-food.html

[14] Pumpkin Walnut Bread: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2011/09/pumpkin-walnut-bread.html

[15] Pumpkin Cookies: http://www.kitchenstewardship.com/2010/10/15/in-season-recipe-connection-easy-healthy-pumpkin-cookies/

[16] Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Cookies: http://searching4hiddentreasures.blogspot.com/2011/09/pumpkin-chocolate-chip-cookies.html

[17] Crockpot Pumpkin Spice Latte: http://youngwifesguide.com/crockpot-pumpkin-spice-latte-recipe-autumn-favorites/

[18] 7 Layer Pumpkin Bars: http://realfoodmedia.com/blog/2012/09/22/pumpkin-7-layer-bars/

[19] Delightful Cream Cheese Pumpkin Muffins: http://www.day2dayjoys.com/2012/10/delicious-pumpkin-cream-cheese-muffins.html

[20] Pumpkin-Cran Smoothie: http://christianmommyblogger.com/probiotic-pumpkin-cran-smoothie

[21] Image: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/wp/wp-content/uploads/2012/10/Pumpkin-Smoothie.jpg

[22] great blender: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2012/05/seven-reasons-to-love-an-important-kitchen-tool-for-healthy-food-prep.html

[23] harvest pumpkin spice: http://www.day2dayjoys.com/2012/09/pumpkin-harvest-spice.html

[24] How to Carve a Pumpkin: http://www.ehow.com/how_3983_carve-pumpkin.html

[25] How to Grow Pumpkins: http://www.vegetablegardener.com/item/5523/how-to-grow-pumpkins

[26] How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds: http://www.stacymakescents.com/how-to-roast-pumpkin-seeds

[27] How to Cook a Pumpkin: http://mamaldiane.com/cooking-a-whole-pumpkin/

[28] How to Can Pumpkin: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2008/11/pumpkin-canning.html

[29] Image: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/wp/wp-content/uploads/2012/10/pumpkin-pie-play-dough.jpg

[30] Paper Plate Pumpkin: http://michellesjournalcorner.blogspot.com/2010/10/pumpkin-paper-plate-craft-for-kids.html

[31] Tin Can Pumpkin: http://www.somewhatsimple.com/diy-tin-can-pumpkins/

[32] Pasta Pumpkin Craft: http://www.momto2poshlildivas.com/2011/10/colored-glittered-pasta-pumpkins-for.html

[33] Pumpkin Play Dough: http://www.childhoodbeckons.com/2011/09/pumpkin-pie-play-dough.html

[34] Image: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/wp/wp-content/uploads/2012/10/pumpkin-yarn-craft1.jpg

[35] Image: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/wp/wp-content/uploads/2012/10/Pumpkin-Yarn-Craft-Collage1.jpg

[36] Popsicle Stick Pumpkin Puzzle: http://www.mamasplayroom.com/2011/10/diy-fun-halloween-puzzle.html

[37] Tissue Paper Pumpkins: http://smashedpeasandcarrots.blogspot.com/2011/10/tissue-paper-pumpkins-tutorial.html

[38] Preschool Pumpkin Printables: http://www.confessionsofahomeschooler.com/blog/2011/02/letter-p-for-pumpkin.html

[39] Pumpkin Pie Spice Sugar Scrub: http://www.thepurposefulmom.com/2011/12/homemade-christmas-gift-pumpkin-pie.html

[40] Simple Thoughtful Pumpkin Note: http://www.homesteadingcottage.com/2010/10/great-fall-gift-idea-for-neighbors.html

[41] Pumpkin Flower Vase: http://www.marthastewart.com/264236/pumpkin-flower-vase

[42] Canning Jar Lid Pumpkin: http://www.simplyklassichome.com/2012/09/canning-jar-lid-pumpkin.html

[43] All Things Pumpkin: http://pinterest.com/day2dayjoys/all-things-pumpkin/

Copyright © 2012 Keeper of the Home. All rights reserved.