- Keeper of the Home - http://www.keeperofthehome.org -

Real Food Holiday Recipe Roundup: 398 Wholesome Recipes

Posted By Stephanie Langford On December 9, 2010 @ 3:00 am In Holidays,Real, whole food,Recipes | Comments Disabled

[1]

Quinoa Stuffing at The Nourishing Gourmet

I thought of this recipe roundup again [2] as I was pondering all of the amazingly delicious and nourishing recipes that are available throughout the blogosphere for the holidays this year.

It can be tough to find “real food” recipes. I know, because I’ve gone to local stores and looked around online and found little. Yes, there are books on whole foods, but rarely with traditional techniques. There are books that don’t use processed foods, but they shun animal fats and dairy. It’s not hard to see why real food blogs have grown tremendously over the last couple of years!

When it comes to holiday cooking, many of us have family stand-bys or favorite recipes that we used to make, but now with our new knowledge of what real food really is [3], we get a bit stuck and wonder what to prepare for all of our special meals and get-togethers this season.

I decided to round up a huge selection of nourishing, whole foods holiday recipes. It’s nice to have everything in one neat and tidy list, isn’t it? Bookmark this list, Stumble it, tweet about it, share on Facebook, or send it to friends and family. Let’s share the real food love this holiday season, shall we?

So here you have it… a whopping 398 whole, real food recipes to choose from. Enjoy!

[4]

Here at Keeper of the Home:

Treats

Incredibly Yummy Homemade Egg Nog [5]

How to Make Your Own (Unrefined) Powdered Sugar [6]

Rich Carob Balls and “Sugar” Cookies (made with honey) [7]

Scrumptious Gingerbread Cake [8]

Chewy Gingersnaps [9] (No gluten, no grains, no dairy)

Mains

Nourishing Wife-Saver Breakfast Casserole [10]

Baked Oatmeal [11]

Sides and Appies

Guilt-Free Christmas Snacking [12] (with recipes for Deviled Eggs and real food Cheesecake)

Green Bean Casserole (The Real Food Way) [13]

How to Make Your Own Lox [14]

[15]

My own homemade lox-- delicious!

From last year:

Healthy Holiday Eats and Sweets Carnival [16]- This was a carnival that I ran last December and it features 43 recipes, including beverages, desserts, main and side dishes, breakfasts, and even edible gifts.

Saving Naturally (our sister site)

Healthy, Whole Grain Pumpkin Pie [17]

Rustic Garlic Mashed Potatoes [18]

Honey Whole Grain Dinner Rolls [19]

Have a Healthy Holiday Recipe List [20]- A nice selection of healthier holiday recipes for every part of your meal, from a group of 8 bloggers that I was a part of on my other blog. Find all of the recipes listed in this one post, along with a few reader contributions. Not every one is made with 100% traditional ingredients, but they are all made with whole foods and would be easily adaptable.

[21]

Whole Foods for the Holidays: Real Food Progressive Dinner

This was a collaborative effort with some of my favorite real food bloggers. Each link below contains a good 20-50 recipes with a nourishing, whole foods focus. They’re separated into different category of recipes (breads, side, etc.) and many have photo thumbnails for you to preview the recipe, making it simple to find what you’re looking for!

GNOWFGLINS :: Soups [22]

Kitchen Stewardship :: Appetizers [23]

A Little Bit of Spain in Iowa :: Bread [24]

Keeper of the Home :: Main Dishes [25]

The Nourishing Gourmet :: Side Dishes [26]

Modern Alternative Mama :: Desserts [27]

Frugal Granola :: Beverages [28]

Naturally Knocked Up :: Salads [29]

[30]

Sprouted Spelt and Cranberries Salad at Naturally Knocked Up

From the Kitchens of the Keeper of the Home Contributing Writers

The faithful, incredible women who write here alongside me [31] also have their own blogs bursting with culinary goodness. These are some of their best holiday-style recipes:

Treats

Chocolate Walnut Fudge [27]

Chocolate Almond Coconut Candy [32]

Gluten-Free Pumpkin Bread and Chocolate-Coconut Fudge [33]

Real Homemade Eggnog [34]

Spiced Kombucha [35]

Soaked Applesauce Cake [36]

Sticky Popcorn Balls [37]

Apple Latkes [38]

Mains

Thanksgiving Recipes [39] (Turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes)

Uno Mas Breakfast Crepes [40]

Polenta and Avocado Frittata [41]

Inside-Out Ravioli [42]

Pork Tenderloin with Apricot Chutney [43]

[44]

Cranberry Cheese Bread from Delighting in the Days

Sides and Appies

Herb-Roasted Potatoes [45]

Green Bean Casserole [46]

Cranberry Cheese Bread [47]

Favorite Salad Nuts [48]

Sweet Apple Chutney [49]

Creamy Cabbage Salad [50]

Aunt Helen’s Heavenly Fruit Salad [51]

Jewel Yam Candy [52]

Easy Black Bean Hummus [53]

Sweet Broccoli Salad [54]

Baked Goods

Soaked Whole Wheat Rolls [55]

Cranberry Oatmeal Muffins [56]

Healthy Banana Bread or Muffins [57]

What will you be making this holiday season?


Article printed from Keeper of the Home: http://www.keeperofthehome.org

URL to article: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2010/12/real-food-holiday-recipe-roundup-389-wholesome-recipes.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Image: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/wp/wp-content/uploads/2010/12/quinoa-stuffing.jpg

[2] recipe roundup again: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/tag/roundup

[3] what real food really is: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2009/06/good-nutrition-in-a-nutshell.html

[4] Image: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/wp/wp-content/uploads/2010/12/piled-up-gingersnaps.jpg

[5] Incredibly Yummy Homemade Egg Nog: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2009/12/healthy-holiday-recipes-incredibly-yummy-homemade-egg-nog.html

[6] How to Make Your Own (Unrefined) Powdered Sugar: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2010/12/how-to-make-your-own-unrefined-powdered-sugar.html

[7] Rich Carob Balls and “Sugar” Cookies (made with honey): http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2007/12/healthy-christmas-cookies-perfect-for-those-with-allergies-too.html

[8] Scrumptious Gingerbread Cake: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2008/12/scrumptious-gingerbread-cake.html

[9] Chewy Gingersnaps: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2010/12/chewy-gingersnaps-no-gluten-no-grains-no-dairy.html

[10] Nourishing Wife-Saver Breakfast Casserole: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2010/11/nourishing-wife-saver-breakfast-casserole.html

[11] Baked Oatmeal: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2009/04/a-nourished-start-peanut-butter-smoothies-and-baked-oatmeal.html

[12] Guilt-Free Christmas Snacking: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2008/12/guiltfree-christmas-snacking.html

[13] Green Bean Casserole (The Real Food Way): http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2010/12/green-bean-casserole-the-real-food-way.html

[14] How to Make Your Own Lox: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2009/06/how-to-make-your-own-lox.html

[15] Image: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/wp/wp-content/uploads/2010/12/homemade-lox.jpg

[16] Healthy Holiday Eats and Sweets Carnival: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2009/12/healthy-holiday-eats-and-sweets-carnival.html

[17] Healthy, Whole Grain Pumpkin Pie: http://savingnaturally.com/2010/11/healthy-whole-grain-pumpkin-pie-recipe/

[18] Rustic Garlic Mashed Potatoes: http://savingnaturally.com/2010/11/rustic-garlic-mashed-potatoes/

[19] Honey Whole Grain Dinner Rolls: http://savingnaturally.com/2010/11/honey-whole-grain-dinner-rolls/

[20] Have a Healthy Holiday Recipe List: http://savingnaturally.com/2010/11/have-a-healthy-holiday-recipe-list/

[21] Image: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/wp/wp-content/uploads/2010/10/whole-foods-for-the-holidays-300x250border.jpg

[22] GNOWFGLINS :: Soups: https://gnowfglins.com/2010/10/18/whole-foods-for-the-holidays-soups/

[23] Kitchen Stewardship :: Appetizers: http://www.kitchenstewardship.com/2010/10/25/whole-foods-for-the-holidays-real-food-appetizers/

[24] A Little Bit of Spain in Iowa :: Bread: http://spaininiowa.blogspot.com/2010/11/whole-foods-for-holidays-bread-dishes.html

[25] Keeper of the Home :: Main Dishes: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2010/11/whole-foods-for-the-holidays-main-dishes.html

[26] The Nourishing Gourmet :: Side Dishes: http://www.thenourishinggourmet.com/2010/11/whole-foods-for-the-holidays-side-dish-carnival.html

[27] Modern Alternative Mama :: Desserts: http://www.modernalternativemama.com/blog/2010/11/30/whole-foods-for-the-holidays-progressive-dinner-desserts.html

[28] Frugal Granola :: Beverages: http://frugalgranola.com/2010/12/real-food-festive-beverages-russian-tea/

[29] Naturally Knocked Up :: Salads: http://www.naturallyknockedup.com/2010/11/01/whole-foods-for-the-holidays-salads/

[30] Image: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/wp/wp-content/uploads/2010/12/sprouted-spelt-salad.jpg

[31] faithful, incredible women who write here alongside me: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/about/contributing-writers

[32] Chocolate Almond Coconut Candy: http://www.modernalternativemama.com/blog/2010/10/21/chocolate-almond-coconut-candy.html

[33] Gluten-Free Pumpkin Bread and Chocolate-Coconut Fudge: http://www.modernalternativemama.com/blog/2009/12/3/gluten-free-pumpkin-bread-and-surprise.html

[34] Real Homemade Eggnog: http://www.agoodandsimplelife.com/2010/12/real-homemade-eggnog.html

[35] Spiced Kombucha: http://megdickey.wordpress.com/2009/12/08/spiced-kombucha/

[36] Soaked Applesauce Cake: http://megdickey.wordpress.com/2009/12/14/soaked-applesauce-cake/

[37] Sticky Popcorn Balls: http://megdickey.wordpress.com/2010/05/03/sticky-popcorn-balls/

[38] Apple Latkes: http://www.healthhomehappy.com/2010/11/apple-latkes-grain-refined-sugar-and-dairy-free.html

[39] Thanksgiving Recipes: http://www.modernalternativemama.com/blog/2009/11/19/thanksgiving-recipes.html

[40] Uno Mas Breakfast Crepes: http://franziskaspantry.blogspot.com/2010/03/uno-mas-breakfast-crepes.html

[41] Polenta and Avocado Frittata: http://franziskaspantry.blogspot.com/2010/05/so-many-eggs-and-not-enough-recipes.html

[42] Inside-Out Ravioli: http://franziskaspantry.blogspot.com/2010/09/inside-out-ravioli.html

[43] Pork Tenderloin with Apricot Chutney: http://franziskaspantry.blogspot.com/2009/02/pork-tenderloin-with-apricot-chutney.html

[44] Image: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/wp/wp-content/uploads/2010/12/cranberry-cheese-bread.jpg

[45] Herb-Roasted Potatoes: http://www.modernalternativemama.com/blog/2010/7/8/herb-roasted-potatoes.html

[46] Green Bean Casserole: http://www.modernalternativemama.com/blog/2010/12/2/green-bean-casserole.html

[47] Cranberry Cheese Bread: http://delightinginthedays.com/cranberry-cheese-bread/

[48] Favorite Salad Nuts: http://delightinginthedays.com/favorite-salad-nuts/

[49] Sweet Apple Chutney: http://megdickey.wordpress.com/2010/08/02/sweet-fruit-chutney/

[50] Creamy Cabbage Salad: http://www.healthhomehappy.com/2010/12/creamy-cabbage-salad-with-dried-mango.html

[51] Aunt Helen’s Heavenly Fruit Salad: http://franziskaspantry.blogspot.com/2009/02/aunt-helens-heavenly-fruit-salad.html

[52] Jewel Yam Candy: http://franziskaspantry.blogspot.com/2010/11/thanksgiving-treat-jewel-yam-candy.html

[53] Easy Black Bean Hummus: http://www.liverenewed.com/2010/01/easy-black-bean-hummus.html

[54] Sweet Broccoli Salad: http://franziskaspantry.blogspot.com/2008/03/real-food-recipes-sweet-broccoli-salad.html

[55] Soaked Whole Wheat Rolls: http://megdickey.wordpress.com/2010/01/26/soaked-whole-wheat-bread/

[56] Cranberry Oatmeal Muffins: http://www.healthhomehappy.com/2009/12/cranberry-oatmeal-muffins.html

[57] Healthy Banana Bread or Muffins: http://www.liverenewed.com/2010/11/healthy-banana-bread-or-muffins-and-making-substitutions-in-your-favorite-recipes.html

Copyright © 2012 Keeper of the Home. All rights reserved.