- Keeper of the Home - http://www.keeperofthehome.org -

Preserving Summer’s Bounty: Recipes and Tutorials to Keep You Busy Until Thanksgiving

Posted By Stephanie Langford On August 30, 2010 @ 3:00 am In Frugality,Homesteading,In the kitchen,Preserving Food | Comments Disabled

table of canned tomatoes [1]

Preserving season is in full swing! I’ve taken a brief break from it myself the past couple of weeks, after a busy bout of preserving in July. Now it’s time to jump back in with both feet, as I get set to tackle pears, peaches, tomatoes, pickles, herbs, apples and probably more.

Wanting to provide you with a very extensive resource for all your real food, summer preserving, I scoured the web so that you don’t have to. These recipes are made with whole foods, natural/wholesome sweeteners, and give you a wide variety of different ways to put up local and seasonal foods to feed your family throughout the rest of the year.

With that, I give you…

The Real Food Preserve-Till-You-Drop Resource Roundup:

canning pears in pot [2]

Image by goodncrazy [3]

Canning

Canning 101- The Basics [4]

Canning 101 [5]

Canning Basics for Preserving Summer Produce [6]

Tomato Canning Tutorial [7]

Canning Pears [8]

Homemade Salsa Tutorial [9]

Sweet Cherries for Winter Days [10]

In the Pits: Canning Stone Fruits [11]

Garlic-Dill Pickles [12]

Canning Peaches [13]

How to Make Sweet Pickle Relish [14]

Awesome Easy Tomato Soup [15]

Canning Tomato Juice and Tomato Sauce [16]

How to Make and Can Applesauce [17]

Canning Peaches [18]

dried tomatoes [19]

Image by vieuxbandit [20]

Dehydrating

Dehydrating Tomatoes [21]

Drying and Grinding Herbs [22]

Dehydrating Blueberries [23]

Drying and Freezing Fruit [24]

How to Dehydrate Vegetables [25]

Homemade Fruit Leather [26]

frozen raspberries [27]

Image by epSos.de [28]

Freezing

Freezing Raspberries and Strawberries [29]

Blanching and Freezing Vegetables [30]

Freezing Blueberries [31]

Freezing Spinach [21]

Freezing Garlic [32]

Go Bananas Preserving [33] (freezing bananas)

Freezing Broccoli [34]

How to Freeze Sweet Corn [35]

Preserving Produce by Freezing [36]

Freezing Peaches [18]

Putting Up (Freezing) Green Beans for the Winter [37]

Putting Up Corn for the Winter [38]

peach jam [39]
Image by llsimon53 [40]

Jams, Jellies, Syrups and Butters

How to Make Homemade Jam in 30 Minutes (With No Special Equipment) [41]

“Raw” Berry Freezer Jam (Honey Sweetened) [42]

Fruit Butter (Recipe- Rhubarb Pear Butter) [43]

Freezer Jam (Recipe- Nectarine-Raspberry Freezer Jam) [44]

How to Make Your Own Blueberry Syrup [45]

Chunky Spiced Pear Jam [46]

Raw Naturally Sweetened Berry Freezer Jam [47]

Peach Pit Jelly [48]

Rhubarb Rose Jam [49]

open jar of pickles [50]

Image by dnfisher [51]

Lacto-Fermentation and Other Traditional Methods

Pickles- Dill and Bread & Butter [52]

Lacto-Fermentation: An Easier, Healthier and More Sustainable Way to Preserve [53]

Preserve the Bounty (blog carnival of traditional preservation methods- still happening!)- Week 2 (Fermentation) [54], Week 3 (Vinegar Preservation) [54]

Lacto-Fermented Dilly Carrot Sticks [55]

Cultured Salsa [56]

Dill Sun Pickles [57]

Other References:

Heavenly Homemaker’s Guide to Gardening and Preserving [58]– A wonderful, affordable ebook ($7.95) to get you started, full of helpful photo tutorials.

Preserving Food without Freezing or Canning: Traditional Techniques Using Salt, Oil, Sugar, Alcohol, Vinegar, Drying, Cold Storage, and Lactic Fermentation [59]– I am LOVING this book this year!

Putting Food By [60] — An excellent, basic guide to canning safety, times, headroom, acidity, etc. I reference this multiple times every year for all the important details that I forget, like how long I need to process a quart of peaches, or a pint of diced tomatoes

Putting It Up With Honey: A Natural Foods Canning and Preserving Cookbook [61]– Perfect for those who prefer to use honey as a natural sweetener.

Do you have any more real food preserving recipes or tutorials for me to add? What do you usually preserve each summer?

Top image by thebittenword [62]

Article printed from Keeper of the Home: http://www.keeperofthehome.org

URL to article: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2010/08/preserving-summers-bounty-recipes-and-tutorials-to-keep-you-busy-until-thanksgiving.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Image: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/wp/wp-content/uploads/2010/08/table-of-canned-tomatoes.jpg

[2] Image: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/wp/wp-content/uploads/2010/08/canning-pears-in-pot.jpg

[3] goodncrazy: http://www.flickr.com/photos/goodncrazy/

[4] Canning 101- The Basics: http://www.simplebites.net/canning-101-the-basics/

[5] Canning 101: http://heavenlyhomemakers.com/canning-101

[6] Canning Basics for Preserving Summer Produce: http://www.kitchenstewardship.com/2010/07/08/organic-gardening-series-canning-basics-for-preserving-summer-produce/

[7] Tomato Canning Tutorial: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2010/08/preserving-summers-bounty-tomato-canning-tutorial.html

[8] Canning Pears: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2009/10/preserving-summers-bounty-canning-pears-2.html

[9] Homemade Salsa Tutorial: http://savingnaturally.com/2010/08/homemade-salsa-tutorial/

[10] Sweet Cherries for Winter Days: http://www.simplebites.net/canning-101-sweet-cherries-for-winter-days/

[11] In the Pits: Canning Stone Fruits: http://www.simplebites.net/in-the-pits-canning-stone-fruits/

[12] Garlic-Dill Pickles: http://www.simplebites.net/pickles-101-recipe-garlic-dill-pickles/

[13] Canning Peaches: http://www.naturallyknockedup.com/2009/09/07/canning-peaches/

[14] How to Make Sweet Pickle Relish: http://heavenlyhomemakers.com/how-to-make-sweet-pickle-relish-the-healthier-way

[15] Awesome Easy Tomato Soup: http://heavenlyhomemakers.com/awesome-easy-tomato-soup

[16] Canning Tomato Juice and Tomato Sauce: http://heavenlyhomemakers.com/canning-tomato-juice-and-tomato-sauce

[17] How to Make and Can Applesauce: http://heavenlyhomemakers.com/how-to-make-and-can-applesauce

[18] Canning Peaches: http://heavenlyhomemakers.com/freezing-and-canning-peaches-for-winter

[19] Image: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/wp/wp-content/uploads/2010/08/dried-tomatoes.jpg

[20] vieuxbandit: http://www.flickr.com/photos/vieuxbandit/

[21] Dehydrating Tomatoes: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2009/09/preserving-summers-bounty-freezing-spinach-and-dehydrating-tomatoes.html

[22] Drying and Grinding Herbs: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2009/08/drying-and-grinding-spices.html

[23] Dehydrating Blueberries: http://www.nourishingdays.com/2009/07/dehydrating-blueberries/

[24] Drying and Freezing Fruit: http://gnowfglins.com/2007/09/15/drying-and-freezing-fruit/

[25] How to Dehydrate Vegetables: http://www.kitchenstewardship.com/2010/06/24/how-to-dehydrate-vegetables-excalibur-week/

[26] Homemade Fruit Leather: http://heavenlyhomemakers.com/homemade-fruit-leather

[27] Image: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/wp/wp-content/uploads/2010/08/frozen-raspberries.jpg

[28] epSos.de: http://www.flickr.com/photos/epsos/

[29] Freezing Raspberries and Strawberries: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2010/08/preserving-summers-bounty-freezing-raspberries-and-strawberries.html

[30] Blanching and Freezing Vegetables: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2009/07/preserving-summers-bounty-blanching-vegetables.html

[31] Freezing Blueberries: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2009/07/beautiful-blueberries-preserving-summers-bounty.html

[32] Freezing Garlic: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2009/08/freezing-garlic.html

[33] Go Bananas Preserving: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2010/07/go-bananas-preserving.html

[34] Freezing Broccoli : http://www.simplebites.net/preserving-summer-freezing-broccoli-101/

[35] How to Freeze Sweet Corn: http://www.simplebites.net/how-to-freeze-sweet-corn/

[36] Preserving Produce by Freezing: http://www.kitchenstewardship.com/2010/07/15/organic-gardening-series-preserving-produce-by-freezing/

[37] Putting Up (Freezing) Green Beans for the Winter: http://heavenlyhomemakers.com/putting-up-green-beans-for-winter

[38] Putting Up Corn for the Winter: http://heavenlyhomemakers.com/putting-up-corn-for-winter

[39] Image: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/wp/wp-content/uploads/2010/08/peach-jam.jpg

[40] llsimon53: http://www.flickr.com/photos/37341119@N02/

[41] How to Make Homemade Jam in 30 Minutes (With No Special Equipment): http://www.simplebites.net/how-to-make-homemade-jam-in-30-minutes-with-no-special-equipment/

[42] “Raw” Berry Freezer Jam (Honey Sweetened): http://www.thenourishinggourmet.com/2009/07/raw-berry-freezer-jam-honey-sweetened.html

[43] Fruit Butter (Recipe- Rhubarb Pear Butter) : http://www.simplebites.net/canning-101-fruit-butter-recipe-rhubarb-pear-butter/

[44] Freezer Jam (Recipe- Nectarine-Raspberry Freezer Jam) : http://www.simplebites.net/canning-101-freezer-jam-recipe-nectarine-raspberry-freezer-jam/

[45] How to Make Your Own Blueberry Syrup: http://www.simplebites.net/how-to-make-your-own-blueberry-syrup/

[46] Chunky Spiced Pear Jam: http://gnowfglins.com/2007/09/05/chunky-spiced-pear-jam/

[47] Raw Naturally Sweetened Berry Freezer Jam: http://www.passionatehomemaking.com/2010/06/raw-naturally-sweetened-berry-freezer-jam.html

[48] Peach Pit Jelly: http://www.naturallyknockedup.com/2009/09/07/peach-pit-jelly/

[49] Rhubarb Rose Jam: http://frugalgranola.com/2008/07/rhubarb-rose-jam/

[50] Image: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/wp/wp-content/uploads/2010/08/open-jar-of-pickles.jpg

[51] dnfisher: http://www.flickr.com/photos/dave_fisher/

[52] Pickles- Dill and Bread & Butter: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2009/05/pickle-recipes-dill-and-bread-butter.html

[53] Lacto-Fermentation: An Easier, Healthier and More Sustainable Way to Preserve: http://www.simplebites.net/lacto-fermentation-an-easier-healthier-and-more-sustainable-way-to-preserve/?doing_wp_cron

[54] Week 2 (Fermentation): http://nourishedkitchen.com/keep-the-bounty-week-2/

[55] Lacto-Fermented Dilly Carrot Sticks: http://www.thenourishinggourmet.com/2010/08/lacto-fermented-dilly-carrot-sticks.html

[56] Cultured Salsa: http://www.thenourishinggourmet.com/2008/09/cultered-or-lacto-fermented-salsa.html

[57] Dill Sun Pickles: http://www.naturallyknockedup.com/2009/09/06/recipe-dill-sun-pickles/

[58] Heavenly Homemaker’s Guide to Gardening and Preserving: https://www.e-junkie.com/ecom/gb.php?ii=774242&c=ib&aff=57593&cl=14683

[59] Preserving Food without Freezing or Canning: Traditional Techniques Using Salt, Oil, Sugar, Alcohol, Vinegar, Drying, Cold Storage, and Lactic Fermentation: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1933392592?ie=UTF8&tag=keeofthehom-20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=1933392592

[60] Putting Food By : http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0032FO5BA?ie=UTF8&tag=keeofthehom-20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B0032FO5BA

[61] Putting It Up With Honey: A Natural Foods Canning and Preserving Cookbook: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0930356136?ie=UTF8&tag=keeofthehom-20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=0930356136

[62] thebittenword: http://www.flickr.com/photos/galant/

Copyright © 2012 Keeper of the Home. All rights reserved.