- Keeper of the Home - http://www.keeperofthehome.org -

Healthy Holiday Eats and Sweets Carnival

Posted By Stephanie Langford On December 7, 2009 @ 7:47 pm In Holidays,Recipes | Comments Disabled

Healthy holiday eats and sweet carnival [1]

It’s time to share all of our favorite, tried-and-true recipes! You know, the ones that you can’t really imagine not having at your holiday table and that just taste like Christmas to you. Traditions are such an important part of how we celebrate holidays, and traditions involve all of the senses- including our smell and taste. Establishing food traditions, alongside our other relationally and spiritually significant traditions, helps to ingrain both the special times spent with loved ones as well as the rich meaning of those holidays deeper into our hearts and minds.

So what’s unique about this collection of holiday recipes? They’re made with real, whole, nourishing foods. They nourish the body as well as the soul. The allow us to keep a focus on good nutrition, without compromising on ingredients we wouldn’t normally eat, while still enjoying the extra-special feast foods that set holiday meals and gatherings apart from everyday life.

Have you got a recipe to share?

1) Post your whole foods holiday recipe (ie. real fats like butter, coconut oil, tallow or olive oil, wholesome sweeteners, whole grains, fresh fruits and veggies, etc.) on your blog. Recipes can be absolutely ANYTHING that you like to eat or drink during the holiday season: cookies, vegetables side dishes, how to cook the perfect turkey, homemade food gifts, breakfast favorites, beverages, etc. They don’t have to be new either, but it’s perfectly fine to pull up your previously posted recipes that fit the bill.

2) Leave a comment below with a link to the recipe that you’d like to share (and yes, you can leave multiple recipes!) and the name of the recipe. I will go through the comments throughout the day and will add your recipe link to the carnival page. I will be adding each of the links manually (so note that it might be a couple hours before your link is added to the carnival), to ensure that there are no problems with Mr. Linky, as well as to give each blogger a legitimate link that contributes to their google ranking.

3) Please make sure that you link back to the Healthy Holiday Eats and Sweet Carnival (this post) in each of the recipe posts that you are contributing.

4) If you don’t have a blog, please share your recipes or recipe links in the comments section! We’d love to hear from everyone!

And now, let the recipe fun begin!

Beverages

  1. Incredibly Yummy Homemade Egg Nog [2] @ Keeper of the Home
  2. Hot Buttered Cranberry Apple Cider [3]@ New Nostalgia
  3. Sparkling Pomegranate Drink [4] @ Hallee the Homemaker
  4. Spiced Kombucha [5] @ Cracking An Egg With One Hand

Sweet Treats

  1. Janet’s Cheesecake [6] (my MIL’s amazing recipe) @ Keeper of the Home
  2. Rich Carob Balls and “Sugar” Cookies [7] (using honey) @ Keeper of the Home
  3. Scrumptious Gingerbread Cake [8] @ Keeper of the Home
  4. Praline Pumpkin Pie [9]@ Healthy ‘n’ Happy Home
  5. Healthy Chocolate Chip Cookies [10] @ What’s Cooking?
  6. Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies [11] @ Creative 2X Mom
  7. Tree Trim Cranberry Trail Mix [3] @ New Nostalgia
  8. Sugar Free Peppermint Bark [12] @ Organic & Thrifty
  9. Almond Date Hearts [13] @ Organic & Thrifty
  10. Marvelous Maple Muffins [14] @ Hallee the Homemaker
  11. Sugar Free Chocolate and Peanut Butter Fruit Dip [15] @ Inspired Homemaking
  12. Gluten-Free Pumpkin Bread [16] @ Modern Alternative Mama
  13. Dairy Free Ice Cream [17] @ Modern Alternative Mama
  14. Honey-Sweetened Apple Pie with Spelt Crust [18] @ Nourished Days
  15. Coconut Flour Orange Cake with Coconut Oil Frosting (GFCF) [19] @ Nourished Days
  16. 100% Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies [20] @ Kitchen Stewardship
  17. Gluten-Free Friendship Bars [21] @ Green Acres
  18. Healthy Pumpkin Pie [22] @ Passionate Homemaking
  19. Cinnamon Oranges [23] @ Joy Comes From Within
  20. Chocolate Chocolate Chip Muffins [24]@ Heavenly Homesteading
  21. Healthy Pumpkin Muffins [25] @ Kitchen Stewardship

Savory Snacks and Appies

  1. Cheesy Spinach and Artichoke Dip [26] @ Inspired Homemaking

Breakfast Recipes

  1. German Pancake [27] @ What’s Cooking?
  2. Breakfast Bread [28] @ Nalaville Chronicles
  3. Blender Gingerbread Pancakes [29] @ Passionate Homemaking

Christmas Dinner- Main and Side Dishes

  1. Chunky Butternut Squash Soup [30] @ Keeper of the Home
  2. Marinated Cucumbers and Onions [11] @ Creative 2X Mom
  3. Apple Cranberry Sauce [11] @ Creative 2X Mom
  4. Gluten-Free Ravioli [31]@ Organic & Thrifty
  5. White Bean and Ham Soup [32] @ Inspired Homemaking
  6. Turkey, Stuffing, Mashed Potatoes, Cranberry Sauce and Gravy (gluten/casein free) [33] @ Modern Alternative Mama
  7. Baked or Mashed Sweet Potatoes [34] @ Our House in the Middle of Our Street
  8. Roasted Butternut Squash and Garlic Lasagna [35] shared by Kelly
  9. Sweet Potato Maple Cups [23] @ Joy Comes From Within

Homemade Edible Gifts

  1. Got Thyme On Your Hands? [36] @ What’s Cooking?
  2. Easy Apple Sauce/Butter [37] @ What’s Cooking?
  3. Tree Trim Cranberry Trail Mix [3] @ New Nostalgia
  4. Healthy Homemade Fudge [38] @ Passionate Homemaking
  5. Healthy Homemade Peanut Brittle [39] @ Passionate Homemaking

Article printed from Keeper of the Home: http://www.keeperofthehome.org

URL to article: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2009/12/healthy-holiday-eats-and-sweets-carnival.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Image: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2009/11/upcoming-healthy-holidays-eats-and-sweets-carnival.html/healthy-holiday-eats-and-sweet-carnival

[2] Incredibly Yummy Homemade Egg Nog: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2009/12/healthy-holiday-recipes-incredibly-yummy-homemade-egg-nog.html

[3] Hot Buttered Cranberry Apple Cider : http://amy-newnostalgia.blogspot.com/2009/12/christmas-cranberry-recipes-christmas.html

[4] Sparkling Pomegranate Drink: http://www.halleethehomemaker.com/2009/11/sparkling-pomegranate-drink/

[5] Spiced Kombucha: http://megdickey.wordpress.com/2009/12/08/spiced-kombucha/

[6] Janet’s Cheesecake: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2008/12/guiltfree-christmas-snacking.html

[7] Rich Carob Balls and “Sugar” Cookies: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2007/12/healthy-christmas-cookies-perfect-for-those-with-allergies-too.html

[8] Scrumptious Gingerbread Cake: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2008/12/scrumptious-gingerbread-cake-.html

[9] Praline Pumpkin Pie : http://healthynhappyhome.wordpress.com/2009/12/07/praline-pumpkin-pie/

[10] Healthy Chocolate Chip Cookies: http://whatscooking4us.blogspot.com/2009/04/healthy-chocolate-chip-cookies.html

[11] Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies: http://creative2xmom.blogspot.com/2009/12/whole-foods-holiday-ideas.html

[12] Sugar Free Peppermint Bark: http://www.organicthrifty.com/2008/12/15/holiday-junkfood-makeover-sugar-free-peppermint-bark/

[13] Almond Date Hearts: http://www.organicthrifty.com/2009/02/14/super-easy-valentines-treats-almond-date-hearts/

[14] Marvelous Maple Muffins: http://www.halleethehomemaker.com/2009/12/marvelous-maple-muffins/

[15] Sugar Free Chocolate and Peanut Butter Fruit Dip: http://lifeincincinnati.com/?p=1264

[16] Gluten-Free Pumpkin Bread: http://modernalternativemama.blogspot.com/2009/12/gluten-free-pumpkin-bread-and-surprise.html

[17] Dairy Free Ice Cream: http://modernalternativemama.blogspot.com/2009/10/dairy-free-ice-cream.html

[18] Honey-Sweetened Apple Pie with Spelt Crust: http://www.nourishingdays.com/?p=2458

[19] Coconut Flour Orange Cake with Coconut Oil Frosting (GFCF): http://www.nourishingdays.com/?p=707

[20] 100% Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies: http://www.kitchenstewardship.com/2009/12/08/healthy-holiday-desserts-100-whole-wheat-chocolate-chip-cookies/

[21] Gluten-Free Friendship Bars: http://jlaforte.livejournal.com/37944.html

[22] Healthy Pumpkin Pie: http://www.passionatehomemaking.com/2008/12/healthy-pumpkin-pie.html

[23] Cinnamon Oranges: http://joycomesfromwithin.blogspot.com/2009/12/whats-cookin.html

[24] Chocolate Chocolate Chip Muffins : http://heavenlyhomesteading.wordpress.com/2009/11/28/chocolate-chocolate-chip-muffins/

[25] Healthy Pumpkin Muffins: http://www.kitchenstewardship.com/2009/10/13/recipe-conection-one-bowl-pumpkin-breadmuffins/

[26] Cheesy Spinach and Artichoke Dip: http://inspiredhomemaking.com/?p=2379

[27] German Pancake: http://whatscooking4us.blogspot.com/2007/11/german-pancake.html

[28] Breakfast Bread: http://nalaville.blogspot.com/2009/12/healthy-holiday-eats-and-sweets.html

[29] Blender Gingerbread Pancakes: http://www.passionatehomemaking.com/2008/11/blender-gingerbread-pancakes.html

[30] Chunky Butternut Squash Soup: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2007/12/menu-plan-mon-3.html

[31] Gluten-Free Ravioli : http://www.organicthrifty.com/2009/01/06/gluten-free-ravioli/

[32] White Bean and Ham Soup: http://inspiredhomemaking.com/?p=2374

[33] Turkey, Stuffing, Mashed Potatoes, Cranberry Sauce and Gravy (gluten/casein free): http://modernalternativemama.blogspot.com/2009/11/thanksgiving-recipes.html

[34] Baked or Mashed Sweet Potatoes: http://ssmast.blogspot.com/2009/12/healthy-holiday-eats-and-sweets.html

[35] Roasted Butternut Squash and Garlic Lasagna: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Roasted-Butternut-Squash-and-Garlic-Lasagna/Detail.aspx

[36] Got Thyme On Your Hands?: http://whatscooking4us.blogspot.com/2009/11/got-thyme-on-your-hands.html

[37] Easy Apple Sauce/Butter: http://whatscooking4us.blogspot.com/2009/11/easy-apple-saucebutter.html

[38] Healthy Homemade Fudge: http://www.passionatehomemaking.com/2009/12/healthy-homemade-fudge-a-great-gift.html

[39] Healthy Homemade Peanut Brittle: http://www.passionatehomemaking.com/2009/12/healthy-homemade-peanut-brittle-a-great-gift-treat.html

Copyright © 2012 Keeper of the Home. All rights reserved.